Snyder’s Methodist Cemetery
SE corner West-half Lot 30, Concession 2E, Chinguacousy Township.
14493 Kennedy Rd, (north of Campbell’s Cross) Caledon.
GPS 43.796082°N, –79.873892°W
The first burial, which took place in 1827, was Mary Magdalene, the spouse of Philip Snyder. The following year Philip Snyder died and was buried with his wife. The cemetery continued to be used for approximately the next forty years.
The Historical Atlas of Peel County shows the original farm on Lot 30 divided into two halves, with a single lane to both houses down the dividing line. The north half owned by William Snyder, and the south half owned by Daniel Snyder. The cemetery is shown at the south east corner of the west half concession of Daniel Snyder’s farm.
The cemetery, which is located on a knoll, later fell into disrepair and became overgrown with trees and underbrush. The Township gathered many of the gravestones into a cairn which is located near the entrance to the cemetery.
Perkins Bull, in his book entitled “Strachan to Owen”, describes the cemetery as follows: “In a picturesque, but sadly neglected spot, on the old Snyder property, near Campbell’s Cross, lie the remains of UE Loyalists such as the Snyders, Campbells, McCollums, Lighthearts. Old-timers like Daniel Clark who died in 1837, and Neil McGinnis, and such families as Amous, Beatty, Bonesteel, Calvert, Cleveland, Clunis, Crawford, Currie, Darrah, Heggiston, Lawn, McBride, McDougall, McLeod, Moore, Norris, Parker, Shanahan, Smith, Walker, and Whitfield. So historic a spot should not be allowed to go to rack and ruin, even if it is on private property.”
Transcriptions of this cemetery are available on-line by credit card from the O.G.S. web site – click here for price/order.